Deal of the Year?

15 02 2011

Yesterday, I received yet another flyer from a sporting goods company. Apparently this economy is driving them to advertise like crazy these days, because it seems like I get one every few days or so….or maybe like the rest of us, they’re just ready for warmer weather!? This one yesterday was from Bass Pro Shops, and since we have one less than an hour from the house here I decided to give it a quick scan. I found the usual “deals” which amount to $10 off here, $20 off there and hey – these days ever little big counts right? Right.

So then, on page 23 (I think, since the pages aren’t actually numbered) there appears a Cortland Fly Line for $9.97. It says the retail value is $59, but color me skeptical. They don’t list the name of the line. Is this 444 Lazer line – or something else made especially for BPS? We’ll never know I guess. And it only comes in 5, 6, or 8 wt. ( Poor old 7 wt……..I guess the days of the 7 wt. are finally totally over….)

Anyhoot, even if it IS a special line made for BPS, if it’s a floating WF line for $9.97 that’s a dang good deal.

There’s also a stainless steel fillet knife for $1.50.

The final catch is that you can only get these prices on Thursday March 10th, and by the time you get off work and get down there they’ll probably be all out of the $10 fly line. Just a guess.

Anyway, for what it’s worth – there ya go. The Deal of the Year….or not?

Maybe this nearly 1/2 off Sage rod at Cabela’s is actually the DOTY?
*Not Shown Actual Size


Actions

Information

3 responses

15 02 2011
Jay

7 wt is my favorite Smallmouth rod… so I’m still keeping it alive even if no one else likes them.
Thanks for the tip on the bargain Cortland/BPS mystery line… I’ll have to check that out.

15 02 2011
Mark

I’d say the VT2 is the DOTY. I probably can’t even build it for that, and that’s with the blank on sale. Looks to me like they must be discontinuing the VT2.

19 02 2011
The River Damsel

I had one in my hand last week and I wanted it so badly…but they were out of the 8 wt which I was looking for. Bummer…that I didn’t need another 5 wt! It was sweet!!!

Leave a comment