A FFSBR Reader Survey: What do you think?

24 01 2011

I’ve been wanting to do this for a while now, but always forget about it when I’ve got something else on my mind to talk about. Today, I was working on the new banner at the top of the page and I remembered that I wanted to get some opinions about the direction of this blog.

I’ll start by telling you what (most of you) already know…I’m typically a goofy person, and therefore a goofy blogger. I’m not all silly-string and bouncy barns, but when I’m feelin’ right with the world it’s hard not to be silly. I think life is way too short to take everything so seriously.

That said, it may shock you to know that I’m somewhat of a deep thinker. I try not to bore you guys with that stuff on this blog, but you may see a little of that creep into an entry from time to time.

So that leads us to the part where I ask for your help:

What brings you to FFSBR, and what brings you back?

I suppose I could just do a poll, but those are so impersonal. I like to read the thoughts of my friends and followers, not see blue bars stretching across the screen indicating a yes or no answer.

Is it the humor? The photos? The more serious ( however rare!) entries? Do you come to see how crazy I’ve been today? Or to find out if there are interesting links? I used to post up alot of “deals” that I’d find around the internet on fly fishing gear. Do you miss those? Are you coming back because of the great group of regulars that comment here? Is it the fishing reports and videos?

What do you like about FFSBR, and what do you hate? What do Β you think would make it better and how can we keep you coming back?

I could spend hours doing internet searches on how to make a “killer blog” but I think outdoor bloggers and outdoor readers are a very special group of people and alot of the information out there ( OK, ok, i HAVE spent hours reading about how to make a killer blog…for what it’s worth, much of it was just alot of time wasted, IMHO) isn’t really geared toward fishing, hunting, hiking or camping blogs. The stuff you find on “how to make a great blog” is almost always geared toward movies, tech, food and gossip. But I’d rather talk trees and rivers and deer and sunsets. My guess, since you’re reading this, is that you would too!

So let me know, guys…how can we take FFSBR to the next level?

I can’t wait to read your suggestions! ( And your snarky quips…umm…cough-riverdamsel-cough… Β πŸ™‚ )

Thanks for spending some of Β your day here with us. We enjoy havin’ ya.

owl

Actions

Information

21 responses

24 01 2011
lisa

Geez, Owl, if I say “all of the above” am I copping out? Your blog is a fun read! You make me smile but give me information! I guess I just like goofy!

24 01 2011
Clif

Something about the shape of your lips just keeps bringing me back.

It’s intoxicating.

24 01 2011
Owl Jones

oh brother. πŸ™‚ LOL

24 01 2011
Clif

I try to stay away.

24 01 2011
Tom Sadler

Owl,
I read your blog for a couple or three reasons. First you make me think. I don’t always agree with what you post but it is thought provoking. Second, it is entertaining. You self deprecating humor appeals to me. Finally you are a fellow tenkara fisher. There are few enough of us around that I enjoy learning from anyone who is trying their hand at it. The head shake in your video was priceless.

FWIW keep on the path you are on.

24 01 2011
Owl Jones

Thanks Tom! I appreciate it.

24 01 2011
Jay

I think it’s the healthy combination of all that you bring to your blogging that keeps us coming back.
Keep up the good work.

24 01 2011
The River Damsel

Don’t really care about contests. Do care about humor! Don’t care for the tenkara rod, but do enjoy you walking sideways in your shrunken waders with the dang thing! Don’t usually like a long read, but for some reason you have me waiting for Part 3…All adds up to a great blog and someone who I can relate to. (that in itself is scary!) πŸ™‚

24 01 2011
Quill Gordon

Keep doing what you’re doing; we’ll sort it out. Blog for yourself and the readers who enjoy it will hang around. Blog for numbers and the joy will be gone.

24 01 2011
gary thompson

I guess I’d have to agree with Quill Gordon. I grow suspect with bloggers that want to “take things to the next level.” That’s usually code for commercial enterprise. Personally, I enjoy your writing, and the feedback you get on your posts. You aren’t afraid to offer an opinion, and I like reading the different perspectives your posts generate (sorry, it’s not all about you Owl, tee hee:). I also like the videos you post as they make me laugh. I enjoy reading about your fishing shenanigans out East as you’re in another part of the country from me. This offers a different perspective from the typical Warren Miller type guy, hanging from a cliff by one fingernail while fighting a 30″ brown trout, all while holding his rod in his teeth. I swear to God, sometimes it feels like fly fishing is turning into more of a rock star self promotional experience than the simple sport it actually is. Oh… I’m flying off in another direction. Maybe I should leave it at this…. I like your blog.

Cheers mate!

24 01 2011
Owl Jones

In a perfect world, no one would need ads or income. Unfortunately, we don’t live in that world. I don’t think it’s impossible to turn a personal blog into a commercial entity without losing what made the blog great in the first place. While I have my own reasons for blogging ( 90% of which is because I enjoy writing and have alot to say, obviously), there are other concerns that an unemployed trout bum must consider. The blog is already more popular than I ever imagined it would be, and as I’ve said before I’m not sure where it’s headed exactly – I’m just rowing as hard as I can to wherever…and it’s been a blast so far! One thing for sure, I’ll never do anything where I have to sell out my opinions or my style and I’ll never turn it into one of those blogs that I sometimes stumble across that’s all ads and little content. At some point however, you may indeed see ads somewhere on this site or others. Again though, those will be kept to a minimum and will not change the content or the feel of the blog. One thing I did when I started this was to make sure to create a “what you see is what you get” kinda blog. What I post is the same thing as what you’d hear talking to me face to face. There’s nothing fake about it. I mean, after all – who would fake the junk I put up? πŸ™‚ LOL Thanks for the comment.

24 01 2011
Ty

Agree with all of the above. I like the variety of your posts and your strange, strange sense of humor. Never know what I’m going to get when I click your page.

And also the lips thing that Clif brought up. There’s that too.

24 01 2011
Owl Jones

Alright now. This is getting scary. πŸ™‚ LOL

24 01 2011
JM

I’ve quit worrying about numbers. I just don’t care anymore , I have my loyal followers and I think they like some of what they read or else they wouldn’t keep coming back. I think you do fine. I like how it’s not all one topic around here ,the variety adds a lot to the whole experience of a blog. Over on my original blog , I lost sight of what I originally intended it to be and made the decision to make another. I think breaking my own rules about content added a more personal touch and that’s what holds some readers. All of my ” How To ” articles for surf fishing will go to both sites from now on , but my original blog will be whatever I want to do (hopefully fishing related)

My point is , do what makes sense to you. I always enjoy reading what you post , and fishing , deals on gear and some of your deeper thoughts are icing on the cake.

Thanks,

A loyal follower

24 01 2011
Owl Jones

Thanks everyone. If you think of anything else, feel free to post it up. I appreciate the input!

24 01 2011
cofisher

Hey wait, you forgot about me. Owl, you seem like a genuine regular guy and that come across in your blog. I also agree that your humor grabbed me at the beginning and I love sparring long distance with you. I admire the time you put into your blog. Keep things as they are and don’t worry about what the naysayers say. One other thing, stop picking on that Colorado guy. I know him personally and he’s a pretty good guy as well.

24 01 2011
Owl Jones

Yeah, I need to leave that coFisher guy alone. He seems like the kinda guy that might sneak down here to GA and put a stinky fish in my waders.

As far as I know, there aren’t any “naysayers” – if there are, they’re mighty quiet. Which is ok with me. πŸ˜‰ LOL

24 01 2011
troutrageous

Owl – I hate your blog and regularly comment simply to pacify & divert your attention. See, you’re like a fungus that has spread all over the blogosphere in a very short time. Kind of like didymo.com Yeah, I pretend to be your friend, but secretly Pete Swanson & I are plotting to take you down – quickly & quietly – just like Black Ops. So keep writing what you’re writing & posting what you’re posting. It wont last long. I promise.

Is that naysayer enuff for ya?

Seriously, you know I like your stuff as is.

Site stats in general are kind of hollow, but if you must check the “numbers”, don’t concern yourself with hits, page views, etc…unique visitors is where it’s at. Concentrate on growing that number, because it’s the amount of people you reach that matter, not how many times they click on your site a day. (I’m sure Cofisher is boosting your daily hit total anyway, he probably accounts for 250 of them). Based on all the interaction that goes on here, I have a feeling you’re doing just fine already…i.e. don’t change a thing.

25 01 2011
Owl Jones

Thanks Mike. I think. πŸ™‚

If no one thinks we need to go further one way or the other…then we’ll just keep rowing straight ahead! I appreciate you guys stopping by every now and then, and also taking the time to chime in. I know it’s usually easier to be motivated to put up an opinion when there’s somethin’ to complain about. Or at least, that’s how it usually is with me. πŸ˜‰

Thank you all. I’m blessed to have met the best folks in the blogging world already, and I look forward to meeting the riff-raff in the years to come. heh.

owl

25 01 2011
John

Probably a combination of the humor and the serious posts, but the majority of it is the fact that I can depend on a new post almost every time I visit the blog, and its not a hastily written post, it has a lot of thought put into it and is very well written.

1 02 2011
Mike

What they said.

Late to the conversation here, I must say that never quite knowing what shoot you’ll be coming out, but absolutely knowing that you’ll be coming out sideways, makes my visits here fun. Keep truckin’, my friend.

Oh, and the lips are to die for.

Leave a Reply

