YOU WANT IT? YOU GOTTA WRITE FOR IT!

11 01 2011

[ ***This Contest is now CLOSED.***]

FFSBR and Hook & Hackle have teamed up to bring you our first ever Free Gear Give-Away and it’s a great one: A Hook & Hackle “Xi” 7’9” 4-piece 3 weight rod building kit!


And you don’t have to do a…well hang on a second there partner. You actually do have to do something to win this prize. The rules are simple, and look at that! – Here they are now!

  1. You must write an original article/essay entitled “Why I deserve to win a Hook & Hackle Rod Building Kit” on your blog or website.
  2. You must link to both HookHack.com and FFSBR. You can do this with links inside the article, or in the intro, or at the bottom of the article. Just make sure you include links to both.
  3. You must write and publish your essay/article by Wednesday, January 19th. Articles published after this date will not be qualified to win.
  4. All essays/articles will be judged by the awesome guys at Hook & Hackle and their decision as to the winner is final.
  5. They contest winner will be announced by Jan. 31st at the latest, but I’m leaving it up to the Judges. (Remember, you have until Jan. 18th to write and publish your entry.)
  6. After writing your post, or putting an article on your website, come back to this thread and link to it. If you don’t do this, your entry may be overlooked – so don’t forget this step!!

Now, normally I guess when Official Rules to a Contest are published, they’re set in stone. However, this is FFSBR and things can always get a little fuzzy around here. So, if we think of any other rules we’ve left out of this very official sounding set of rules, we’ll let you know ASAP.

And if you were maybe expecting a little more, well, we’re sorry about that.

Oh wait. Doggone it! The Hook & Hackle guys haven’t said what they’re looking for…Humor? Drama? Sincerity? I have no idea. But what I do know is that there is a little more:

A runner up prize!

The Coveted and Often Lucky, Hook & Hackle Fishin' Hat...

 

So, let’s not dilly-dally around and end up procrastinating until the day before the deadline, people! Grab that keyboard and let’s hear why you deserve the rod building kit! And hey, even if you don’t want the rod building kit, you can always enter just to try and win the hat. Or, you could do FFSBR a favor and just blog about it like it’s the best thing since silicone floatant. Or, something like that.

And if you haven’t checked out HookHack.com, you really should. I was poking around in my catalog today and they have so much great stuff – and the website has even more than that! Plus, price-wise they are hard to beat.

[Our sincere thanks to Ron and Hook & Hackle for offering this prize and working with us to make it happen for our readers and fellow bloggers!]

Actions

Information

29 responses

11 01 2011
Nate - Fishing In Pa

I want an Owl autographed photo as a consolation prize…

11 01 2011
Owl Jones

HAhahaha. Now THAT’s FuNnY. 😉

OwlJones.com – A Southeastern Fly Fishing Internet Hub!

11 01 2011
The River Damsel

So do I.

11 01 2011
Clif

So after I’ve written the most awesomest post ever, how should I let the incredibly handsome judges know about it?

11 01 2011
Owl Jones

Oh Clif. You have to read the whole thing. That was covered in Rule # 6. About three seconds ago. 🙂 Thanks Clif! I knew I’d forget something!

11 01 2011
d nash

I humbly submit my post. I have to admit, I was a bit eager. I started writing on the 8th after the first time you mentioned this. Sometimes my own enthusiasm annoys me 🙂

Here you are:

http://myleakywaders.blogspot.com/2011/01/am-i-deserving-am-i-worthy.html

11 01 2011
Clif

I thought about saving this until the day to insure it’s fresh it the judges mind…but I’d probably forget and post it the day after.

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/LunkerHunt/~3/COnaBQK4trs/deserving-is-strong-word-why-dont-we.html

11 01 2011
Nate - FishingInPa

Owl… Here is my masterpiece:

http://www.fishinginpa.com/2/post/2011/01/an-open-essay-to-ffsbr-and-hook-and-hackle.html

Randomhouse is already calling to get this made into a book.

11 01 2011
Owl Jones

Alright, thanks guys! To poach a current advertising slogan ” Here we go!”
I can’t wait to read them all!

11 01 2011
dpass1982

Here ya go owl, fresh off the printers:
http://fishintheridge.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/why-i-deserve-…-a-taco-eulogy/

Can’t wait to see what the judges think 😀

12 01 2011
12 01 2011
Brad Melville

Mr Jones I am new to the blog/posting world… I wrote my heart out.. but have no idea how to link to the mentioned sites… could someone who finished highschool help a poor fisherman out!?

12 01 2011
Owl Jones

Hey now! Mr. Jones was my dad! 🙂 I’m just Owl, got it? If you’re new to blogging and aren’t sure about the linking – that’s ok! We can make an exception for ya – Hook N Hackle guys, here is the link to Brad’s submission: http://riverkeeper1.blogspot.com/2011/01/fly-rod-kit-contest.html

Brad, if you want to email me at owljonesblog@yahoo.com I can walk you through getting the links to our site and hookhack.com on your blog.

13 01 2011
13 01 2011
bigwalnutfly

I have posted my submission to http://bigwalnutfly.wordpress.com/ and http://bigwalnutfly.blogspot.com/ and http://bigwalnutfly.tumblr.com/ and the last link also post to my FB account. Great contest and thanks for getting me thinking.

13 01 2011
Owl Jones

Thank you! I gotta tell you, I love the header photo of your blog! Although it reminds me of winter. 🙂 (cabin fever here already!) Thanks for entering!

13 01 2011
13 01 2011
16 01 2011
Bigerrfish
16 01 2011
Owl Jones

Thank you, Sir! Only two days left!

OwlJones.com – A Southeastern Fly Fishing Internet Hub!

19 01 2011
troutrageous1

Okay Owl, I’m in. Couldn’t NOT support your giveaway!

http://www.troutrageous.com/2011/01/i-got-nothing.html

19 01 2011
troutrageous1

BTW – what time zone are the southern Blue Ridge in. I submitted this at 10:22 PM EST on 1/18, yet your blog thinks it’s tomorrow already. Hmmm….

19 01 2011
Owl Jones

Yeah, that’s a problem I’m working on. The thing switches over to the next day around 7:50 PM each day. I can’t find where it’s off. In the time input screen everything looks good. So, I just roll with it. 😉 I’ve got bigger fish to fry anyway.

19 01 2011
Owl Jones

By a NOSE! 🙂 I was just about to call it right now! hahaha. Thanks for givin it a shot! I’ll be emailing the guys at Hook & Hackle on Friday with a list of links to all the entries! Good luck!

19 01 2011
Owl Jones

Annnnnnnd that’s it. Closed. I even let it go a couple of extra hours, ’cause I’m just that kinda guy. 😉

On Friday I’ll post up links and notify Hook & Hackle of all entries via email. Then, all we have to do is wait for them to decide who wins first place and the rod kit, and who wins runner up and the hat!

23 01 2011
Nate - Fishing In Pa

….and who gets the photos… Riiiiight?

I has to winz dis rod!

23 01 2011
Owl Jones

Nate, I’m lost!? What photos?

FYI everyone, I emailed them all the links on Saturday. Now, we just have to wait on them to decide.

27 01 2011
d nash

the suspense!

on another note, was that a Carmen San Diego reference on the Smith Creek Tenkara video? If it was, NICE. If not, NICE.

27 01 2011
Owl Jones

Yes, I know. It’s killing me too. I’m going to email them on Monday if I haven’t heard back and see if they’ve forgotten about us. 😉 If for some reason they don’t come through ( I’m not the least bit worried about that, mind you.) I’ve got a back-up prize waiting in the wings…

Leave a Reply

