Video: First Tenkara Trout

8 01 2011

I drove about 15 miles from home yesterday to try out my new Tenkara rod. The river was running high and fast and a little murky. But, I did manage to land two trout, missed two, acted the fool and had a pretty good time. The air temp. at 2 pm on the river was 43. Kinda cool, but I had on three shirts, two pair of pants, and of course the waders and a fleece pull-over.

When I edited this video I learned a few things.

  1. The camera adds 10 pounds – but even so, that still leaves 50 or 60 pounds that’s all my fault. Oh well.
  2. Windows Movie Maker simply can not be the best tool out there for PC users to edit videos. Is just can’t be. Please, God let it not be.
  3. Those dogs I heard howling as I walked back to the truck. There was a reason for that.
  4. 8 minutes is about 2 or 3 minutes too long for a fishing video. Since I only got two fish(out of four hooked) on camera, I thought adding in some typical Owl craziness would make it better. I’m not sure it did and I’ll probably include less of that in future productions. (you tell me?)
  5. If you can’t see the water from a high vantage point, it looks as if the guy sliding his considerably large rump out onto the rock is just being lazy, and not that he is avoiding a 6 ft. hole directly beside the rock that won’t allow him to stand up there.

 

So, yeah. There you go. OH, and before I let you see the video, I wanted to give you a review of Tenkara USA’s Iwana 11′ rod from the view of a total tenkara noob. The verdict? I liked it. I don’t know that I loved it – but then, I think I might be holding back some of my joy because of my utter disdain for the water I was forced to fishing that day. The Amicalola River is an artifical fishery that is the worst of all of Georgia’s artificial fisheries, IMHO and I actually think that next time – faced with the choice of the “Ami” or not fishing at all, I’ll just stay home and tie some flies. The “Ami” is close to me, distance wise, but that’s about it. So, unfortunately I can’t really give you a full review of the rod until I get it on some real trout water. Hopefully that will come next week.

It was however: light, responsive( maybe too much so as everything felt/looked like a strike), super cool to fish with, and it did attract some attention from an angler downstream. I was fully expecting him to come up to my location to ask about it when he left the river, but he didn’t. In my head I was eager to show it to him. So I’m pretty sure once I get it on some really nice trout water, I’ll have even more of a positive impression of tenkara fishing. It felt rather natural, and aside from having the line too long on the first fish, and maybe needing a net for the second….it was pretty cool.

Well, enough of my rambling….you’ve got a video to watch!

Enjoy!

 

 

Actions

Information

30 responses

8 01 2011
howard

First off, don’t change a thing, well except maybe the singing. IMHO, this was a successful outing. Especially for those of us who don’t know two hoots (get it?) about Tenkara. Beautiful small stream and some nice trout. I think I can say that I would give you an A for effort and the plug for Windknots & Tangled Lines. Thank you very much. Check your email if I can find where to send one.

H

8 01 2011
howard

Okay, I couldn’t find your email, so I’m back. Thanks for the head-up on the blog misfiring so, so, so early this morning. I think it’s fixed, so post your reply. Thank you Mr. Owl.

H

8 01 2011
Owl Jones

Howard, thanks! It’s owljonesblog 9at (yahoo- you know the rest.

As for the RIVER, did you say “small stream!?” hahaha…that’s one of the bigger trout streams( artificial though it is) in this part of the state. Only our mighty Chattahoochee River, a few other tailwaters, the Chattooga(where Deliverance was filmed! eeek!) and maybe the Talulah River are bigger. I could be wrong – that’s just off the top of my head, but down here that is anything but a small stream! πŸ™‚

I think it’s so interesting how everyone’s ideas of what’s small or large is based on what they’ve fished or what their home water is like. I mean, that’s naturally how it should be, but when I tell guys on the tenkara forum that our brook trout streams are small and overgrown…I don’t think they really know how small and overgrown that is. I can’t wait til spring so I can hit one and take some pics of the stuff we cast into with a bow-n-arrow cast to take small trout out of streams you can spit across. πŸ™‚ It’s the nature of our mountains, where it’s all freestone and almost zero snow-melt or anything like that. Maybe on day I’ll do a post about the creeks and the mountains for folks that aren’t from around here – instead of turning the comments section into a post. hahaha.
You da man! Thanks for watching. I can’t promise I won’t sing anymore. πŸ˜‰ LOL

8 01 2011
Ivan

owl,
nice video. i wouldn’t change much except for the singing. I am going to have to agree with howard on that one. I look forward to more videos and tenkara rod reviews in the future. also, i would like more personal attacks on people who have defaced public property. calling out hoodlums is always nice.

did you spring for a gorilla pod or some other mini-tripod? i saw some nice shots in das video that seem to suggest you werent leaning your camera against a rock. if so, tell me your impressions of the mini-tripod.

8 01 2011
Owl Jones

Thank you Ivan!

I did have it set up on a gorilla pod type thing. It came with the camera, and is of lesser quality than the ones you can buy that are the brand name. But it works the same. The little balls pop out if you bend it too far. Today, it also showed a weakness with the Kodak Playsport when the wind came up just a little bit – maybe 4 mph and the lightweight gorilla pod thing tipped right over. The Playsport is like a big flat wind catcher though. So anyway, today I used some Loc-tite to secure the top ball that had popped out into the top socket. You just can’t bend them too far when trying to wrap them around something. That shot where I was walking through the woods toward the camera, it was just twisted around a tree limb, after sitting the camera and pod into a “V” on the small tree.

Hopefully, it won’t take too many more videos before I get the hang of it and they start turning out better. At some point I’d like to make one that isn’t so goofy, but I’ll really have to work at that one I’m sure. If I take the silly humming out of the one where the sun is coming through the pine limbs, that would be a cool shot. But instead, of course, I have to go all nuts with it. πŸ˜‰ LOL
Thanks for the comment! I’m not sure the “solution” to that graffiti isn’t worse than what they covered up, aesthetically speaking, but I’m sure the “Rectangle Gang” meant well. There are alot of small kids and families that use that trail.

8 01 2011
Ivan

i don’t think it will take any more videos to get a hang of it. your fishing footage was top-notch. I would like to see some underwater release shots. use all the features of that playsport.

I use a flip HD with a waterproof housing for my videos. the one drawback with the waterproof housing is the lack of a tripod mount. I am trying to figure out if it is worth it to jimmy rig a tripod mount onto the outside of the waterproof housing and get one of those mini-tripods.

8 01 2011
Clif

Alright! I cranked up the quality to 11 and went to the kitchen for dinner. When I came back it was fully buffered and I got to enjoy the film.

1) Loved the untangling segment
2) You need to take ten feet off your line, then the tree is out of reach
C) If you take off the chest pack, you’ll appear to loose about 40lb. My old waders used to puff up and make me look about 500lb. Maybe you can use the bag to hold down the tripod on windy days or something.
4) The graffiti segment cracked me up. Reminds me of the bridge graffiti post I did a couple years ago. It wasn’t nearly as funny, but the artist’s sense of humor made me chuckle. One of those things that makes only me laugh…so I share it with the world. I think I’ll go look for it now.

8 01 2011
8 01 2011
Owl Jones

Hey, I liked it! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the line tip. haha. I think I’m going to try to find a way to add a little weight to the “feet” on that gorillapod thing. Not sure that will work though. I’ve also thought about building a steady-cam type rig for the walking shots, but man, what a pain that would be to haul around a trout stream. Thanks for the comments!

8 01 2011
Tweets that mention Video: First Tenkara Trout Β« Fly Fishing the Southern Blue Ridge -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Func. Fishaholics. Func. Fishaholics said: RT @owljones: Video: First Tenkara Trout: http://wp.me/p1glyG-59 […]

8 01 2011
JM

LOL – tenkaraaaaaaaa fishinggggg – that made you dizzy right there didn’t it?

Great video man! My wife just asked me what the heck I was laughing about……

8 01 2011
troutrageous1

HA! Nice video Owl. The quality & editing looked fine to me…but then again, I’m too lazy to ever edit any of my videos.

Glad to see you finally got out with the rod. I don’t think the cult will disapprove if you didn’t “love” it the first time. The first trip was very frustrating for me too, was in trees more than water so don’t feel bad…

Three things you need to make your next tenkara trip more fun.
1) Sidearm cast – hold the rod parallel to the water and flick your wrist like you’re skipping stones. Will keep line low and at least out of overhead trees. I have to fish that way probably 90% of the time.
2) A net. But you don’t need a fancy circle one. The nets make landing the fish so much easier. Plus you don’t want to over-play them.
3) Tenkara tea. Or so I’ve heard.

And BTW, you’re right, that’s no small stream where I live either.

8 01 2011
Owl Jones

Tenkara tea! ha! Can I make it cold with lots of sugar, and in a two gallon pitcher? πŸ™‚

I’ll try that sidearm thing. If I’d have just had the feel for the rod I think could have avoided the tree. It’s just a matter of time I guess, to get the line length dialed in, etc. I actually fished that pool for about 20 minutes. Lots of video didn’t make it. I really want to thank all you guys who are posting up comments. I sure thought it would be a total flop when I got the thing put together….I mean, it’s no Clear and Low(or is it low and clear?) but if it made someone laugh, that’s pretty much my point. πŸ™‚

thanks!

btw – how was that tea? πŸ™‚

9 01 2011
troutrageous1

Tea is good, but I don’t like it hot either. I’d make up a batch of iced tea, but I’d need a bigger bamboo whisk to stir it up.

8 01 2011
The River Damsel

Hey, thanks for the “Shout Out”!!! Ha. Honestly, if you left out the singing…or whatever that was, it just wouldn’t be the same…And didn’t your mother ever tell you that if you crossed your eyes, they could get stuck??? Things to remember. Nice fishin’, Bubba.

8 01 2011
Owl Jones

Hey, hey now. Down here (in trout fishing at least) a “bubba” is the guy who trashes the creek, keeps twice his limit, and generally fishes more because he/she grew up thinking that the stocking trucks were there so that he/she could fill the freezer each week. So don’t call me bubba, fish-face. πŸ™‚ lol

8 01 2011
The River Damsel

Ooooooh…ok, buddy. : ) Is there a Southern playbook of terms??? I’ve got to change that picture!

8 01 2011
Mark

Nice video, had me laughin. Really makes me wish all our water wasn’t frozen up here.

8 01 2011
Owl Jones

Yeah I honestly don’t know how you guys get through the winter. Esp. this winter. It’s freezin down here and they’re calling for more snow. That’ll be three or four times already this year, and we usually get our snow in late Feb. and March. So three times already? Global warming is lettin’ us down! πŸ˜‰

8 01 2011
d nash

Yeah, I don’t know what everybody else is talking about. The singing is what did it for me. Nice vid and nice +/-tree fishing πŸ™‚

– David

8 01 2011
Owl Jones

It’s my specialty. umm…not the singing. the tree fishin’. πŸ˜‰

8 01 2011
Ken Gortowski

So how does a tenkara compare to the shakespeare wonderpole telescopic crappie fishing rod for under about $30. Or any of the other such rods available. The things have been around forever and I’m curious about what makes the tenkara that much better.
Great movie by the way. I wouldn’t change anything.

9 01 2011
Owl Jones

Ken, it’s mostly weight. Although this Iwana 11′ feels just a teeny-tiny bit tip-heavy, I think I could fish it all day. A “crappie pole” – there’s no way I’d want to cast one of those for even a half day. The Iwana weighs about the same as my 7′ brookie rod sans reel. Just a guess – I haven’t weighed them, but it’s got to be pretty close to that. The other difference is that, unlike with a crappie pole or cane pole – it’s not dapping or lobbing. You cast it as you would a fly line, and it casts as well as any fly rod I’ve owned. It’s just that it casts a braided leader only, instead of a fly line. I can see that it is not going to replace my 8’6 4 wt, or even my 7′ brookie rod – but it is fun to fish. I hope to see just how much fun landing fish is next week with a trip to a much better fishery.
Everyone wants to compare it to “cane pole” fishing, and that’s natural considering the way it looks.

11 01 2011
Ken Gortowski

I get it. Makes sense.
On the little creeks I fish it always seemed to be such a waste to have all that line on a reel when all I was doing was making 12 foot casts. It’s easy with smaller spinning gear, but even a 7’6″/3-4 weight is a challenge.
Never dawned on me to just tie it onto the end of the rod.
Collapsing to 18 inches helps. I crawl through some pretty dense crap to get to the best spots.
Could it handle a 16 inch smallie, or bigger? These little creeks can hold some bigger fish.

11 01 2011
Owl Jones

People are using them for catching small bass, and even some larger fish – but they’re not designed for anything but small fish IMHO, because once you actually see the very tip section it’s obvious that you wouldn’t want to hook any fish that could break about 4 pound test easily. The tip section is amazingly thin.

OwlJones.com – A Southeastern Fly Fishing Internet Hub!

8 01 2011
dtgbuettner

Yay Owl! Thanks for sharing your first tenkara video. πŸ™‚ It was well worth the wait. Keep it up!

8 01 2011
dtgbuettner

Also, I think we have the same chestpack. Just saying:)

9 01 2011
Owl Jones

dt, that’s a Cabela’s model that they are sadly no longer making. I really need to add some more velcro to the back rain-jacket pocket, but other than that it’s been a great pack for almost 3 years now.

9 01 2011
Ty

Purty good, Owl. Purty darn good.

14 01 2011
FRIDAY FISH-STICKS! « Fly Fishing the Southern Blue Ridge

[…] I guess I could lose some readers. Then again, worrying about people thinking I’m totally nuts has never stopped me before. So I guess I’ll share with you guys my personal “pick-me-up” and something that […]

Leave a Reply

