FFSBR’s Smoky Mountain Trout Camp

5 01 2011

How does the weekend of May 20,21, and 22 hit ya? OK? Good!

May 2oth-22nd. Those are the dates, and I hope every single blogger from OBN can make it. 😉

One thing to note: If you are making reservations for the campground(Smokemont) they have an awesome interactive site here:

http://www.recreation.gov/tn/Smokemont/Campground/r/campgroundDetails.do?contractCode=NRSO&parkId=70967&pstate=TN

But you should make your reservations EARLY, folks. As soon as the weather clears even a little (*and here that can be as early as early March) people will start booking up the spaces at Smokemont. They won’t normally be all taken, but the best ones( near the creek) always go first.

A Map of the campground: 

The warm spring sun breaks over the mountain, as a soft, pale amber light fills the tree tops with a glowing haze. The resident crows appear, and their calls wake you to the smell of bacon and wet rhododendron leaves, dripping with the morning dew. Then, out of nowhere, the early morning peace is shot all to heck, as some fool yells from the creek……. “FISH ON! YEEEEEEE-HAW!”


Announcing FFSBRs First Annual (and First Ever) Smoky Mountain Trout Camp! Make your plans now to join FFSBR on the banks of Bradley’s Fork Creek, among the dogwoods and tulip poplars to fish the cold, clear waters of the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Just minutes (literally….like five.)from Cherokee, North Carolina where you’ll find what may be the southeast’s largest tourist trap short of Panama City Beach, Smokemont Campground will host this very informal event. Smokemont Campground, formerly the site of a turn-of-the-century logging camp(and later a CCC camp) has running water, bathrooms with flush toilets, RV sites, tent-only sections and the beautiful and very trouty water of Bradley’s Fork flowing slap-dab down the middle of it’s tree-lined paths.

Enjoy fishing in one of two dozen Smoky Mountain Streams that are easily accesible by car – most within an hour’s drive or less from Smokemont Campground! Also, just outside the National Park, the waters of the Cherokee Indian Reservation, North Carolina Delayed Harvest rivers, and the Blue Ridge Parkway await….where, by the way you can easily catch the normally elusive Southern Appalachian Brook Trout….if you know where to look. ( Hint: I do… and of course if you drive all the way to NC to fish with us, I’ll be happy to direct you to some very likely brookie water…)

Campsite and Bathroom(one of many)

 

Alright, alright….enough of the travel brochure jargon. Let’s talk turkey!  Since FFSBR has become a moderate success (thanks in no small part to OBN and also Troutrageous! and other blogger friends) I’ve decided to invite you all down to my home water to fish. The dates aren’t set quite yet, but we’ll be fishing during the best hatches of the year – sometime in late April to late May and there’s more than enough water in the GSMNP to go around. Additionally, there’s plenty of “DH” water in North Carolina to keep you busy. Not to mention the trophy fishing in Cherokee, if 30 inch rainbows is your kinda thing (for a price, mind you.)

The fishing in the GSMNP has been stellar over the last couple of years, with water levels back from our historic years of drought in the late 2000’s. Last year I had several great days on the rivers and creeks there, where the water can be challenging to wade, but is so many times generous with it’s trout. Hatches of various mayfly species, yellow sallies, black stoneflies and of course caddis can provide outstanding dry fly fishing in late April and May. Rainbows, Browns and native Brook Trout are all here, with some excellent smallmouth bass fishing close by. It’s not uncommon to catch several brown trout over 12 inches in a day’s fishing, and the chance at a wild 15 inch fish is pretty good during this time of year. The whole area is pretty under-rated and almost unknown outside the South, but the region from Asheville, NC to the GSMNP near Cherokee to Brevard, NC is probably one of the best “fly fishing triangles” in the whole southeast. This area has been my “home water” for the last 5 or 6 years now, and I’ll do my best to make sure your trip to the Smokies is an unforgettable event. Even if that means waking you up at 6 a.m. with a few “FISH ON! YEEEE – HAAAWW’s” or helping you get that photo of an elk or bear. ( While I don’t know them personally, by first name – I do know where they like to hang out. 😉 )

Freestone streams like this are literally everywhere, in every direction...

 

I hope you’ll join us in the heart of the Southern Blue Ridge for the fishing, camping and fun this Spring! Stay tuned! More info coming very soon!

If you’d like to see a slideshow of images from the area, you can do that on my BlueRidgeTroutBums.com website, by clicking the slideshow/photo page at THIS LINK. 🙂

For official info on the Park, click HERE.

OH, and did I mention there will be a special prize for the angler that travels from the farthest distance to join us in the GSMNP? How does a new Cabela’s Traditional II 4 wt. and a copy of Horace Kephart’s epic work on the region that is now the GSMNP, entitled “Our Southern Highlanders” sound? Yeah, I know. That’s how we roll.

Taken by me in 2010. This mama bear had two cute cubs that were so small I couldn't get a decent photo for the high grass!

Actions

Information

19 responses

5 01 2011
dpass1982

I’m excited Owl. Can’t wait for another GSMNP event!!!

5 01 2011
Owl Jones

Hey D….no promises, but I may be able to make it Friday….maybe even to the Nan, if you’re up for it. I’ll let you know. I’m glad you’re so excited about fly fishing, even after fishing with us last year! 🙂 LOL

5 01 2011
The River Damsel

What a “trouty” time for all…great idea, Owl! I’m sure everyone will have a great time with those rainbows…whoohoo! Looks beautiful!

5 01 2011
Owl Jones

Did you see the slideshow? Lots more pics there of the water, the fish and other stuff! You know you need another one of those Cabela’s rods!….

5 01 2011
The River Damsel

I don’t think that I can keep up with the Cabela rod count of yours!!! I have several Cabela’s and TFO’s in different weights…I’m good for rods with the exception of the upcoming custom rod for my Steelies!
Those pictures make me want to be there tomorrow…but, probably won’t be this year, unfortunately.

6 01 2011
Owl Jones

Actually, even if you don’t make it down here to the Deep South, I’ve got a feeling you’ll be seeing me this year. Sorry?! 😉

7 01 2011
The River Damsel

You must be finding out more “secrets” in that bunker under the Madison…

5 01 2011
Jay

You added that Smallmouth thing just for me, didn’t you? I may just have to take you up on this fine offer. I miss the Smokies.

By the way, I don’t think Cherokee has anything on the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge/Sevierville complex of chaos. I think that is the greatest trap of all in the SE.

6 01 2011
Owl Jones

Man you are right about that. I usually sneak up on the Park from the NC side, so I forget about the Gatlinburg side. I think the last time I was through there it took us an hour and a half just to get past all the ..err….umm…stuff. Def. somethin’ people should go see though while they’re there. Once is usually enough.

5 01 2011
howard

Who’s cooking? I wouldn’t want bacon and rhododendron leaves. I think I’m lergic!

6 01 2011
Owl Jones

HA! You ain’t right, Howard. You. Ain’t. Right.

I was thinking you were cooking, btw. 😉

6 01 2011
howard

If I thought I could actually get there, I’d make a big batch of green chili that would put your rhododendron leaves to shame. Oh and while it’s still on my mind, don’t be stalkin’
Damsel…

6 01 2011
Owl Jones

Wel, Howard….I tell ya what….if you can’t make it here….I might just have to…..

6 01 2011
Ty

Going to do my best to make this so I can fish with the infamous Owl. Only fished Bradley Fork once, and had a great day catching wild browns on dries. Been wanting to get back to that side of the park.

6 01 2011
Owl Jones

Infamous!? Infamous!? Why….I ….yeah, ok. you have a point. 😉

6 01 2011
Quill Gordon

Wishing I could make it *sniff* but our season at Fish in a Barrel Pond starts the last weekend of April and I will be up to my elbows in anglers. And dirty linens and frozen pipes and lost boat anchors and all the other stuff I spend winter recovering from. I haven’t fished anywhere further than a mile from my door in four years (not that that’s a bad thing) and would love to be there, but …

6 01 2011
Owl Jones

Well, crud. I suppose that’s right in the “wheelhouse” of alot of peoople’s fly fishing seasons and busy work year – but it’s when the hatches are at their peak, so thus the dates. We do have some great winter fishing though – maybe next year I can pull off a winter-time “Hey come down here our trout aren’t trout-cicles yet” kinda thing?!

I do hope you’re flexible enough to be able to get away for a few days this summer, though. I mean, you know…something big could come up and you might need to get out of the northeast for a couple of days. I mean, not that I know anything about anything about that, …umm..or anything…

🙂

6 01 2011
Quill Gordon

I could bring crumpets!

11 01 2011
Owl Jones

You and you’re crumpets! 🙂 lol

Leave a Reply

