What do you want from this life?

3 01 2011

After another unsuccessful morning of job-hunting, I opened the OBN page to see what was shakin’ over there today. I found a great new post that named my buddy Mike of  Troutrageous! as a Featured Blogger!” Congrats to Mike for a well-deserved spot at the top! ( I hear the proper thing to do is wait one day, and then change your url to something else. Trust me. That’s what you do. I swear. 😉 )

Then, I checked out the other featured blogs and there was one from a bass guy whose main blog (I think) is Bass Pundit. OBN said it was one of the “top bass blogs” around, so naturally I wasn’t about to miss checking it out. It’s by a guy who just happens to be about a week older than I am and since we’re both creeping reluctantly into middle-age ( at least I am! ), I decided to check out his blog and ran across a linked post to another of his blogs and decided to read it, even though he warns the reader to read it “at your own risk.”

Trust me on this, folks. Ignore Dave’s warning and read it.

It may not change your life, but then again….it just may. It’s that kind of powerful. It’s long by blog post standards, so make sure you have time to really digest what the man is saying before diving in. This isn’t just another post about a trip to the whatever river, or about how many rabbits were taken on a recent small game trip. This is a post that has meat on it. It has legs, too I’m betting – and it should.

I can relate to much of what Dave is saying…but then, there are parts…terrible, sad parts that I cannot even pretend to understand emotionally. The man has had more than his share of bad things happen to him. And, even though the post is about his life, and his trials and frustrations and pain….in the end, it’s about so much more than that. I doubt Dave realized it when he wrote it either…it’s not that kind of writing – where someone tells you about how much they’ve had to overcome and how they miraculously became free, at peace and totally healed one day. No, this is about real life. This is about a struggle. This is about a man who hasn’t lived a life of easy days. This is about a human being who shares with us what it means to be human and what it means to consider what life is – what it has to offer – how it has failed us – and what we can, ….or can’t do about it. It’s not writing that you can really say you “enjoyed” for the most part, but in the end I think you will appreciate it for what it is…..a soul’s lament over a life that didn’t go as planned, but that is still pushed forward because of one single desire that was planted as a small seed in Dave’s youth.

I can tell you that this middle-aged blogger( did I really type that? oh boy. rats.) felt the power of Dave’s story, and has no doubt that this fellow’s dream; his “What do I want from this life?” is being fulfilled even this very day on the page where he pours out his heart.

I know this isn’t the normal blather you get from me here at FFSBR, but there’s more to Owl than funny pictures and quirky articles about fly fishing. And there’s more to Dave Maas than his blog about bass fishing. You’ll see…I promise you that. You’ll see….

“What Do I Want from This Life?”– Bass Pundit and OBN featured Blogger, Dave Maas

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 01 2011
The River Damsel

I don’t think the OWL is having too many “normal blathers” as of late…and TROUTRAGEOUS won’t have a problem with his URL…I’m sure of it!

3 01 2011
Owl Jones

Hey, a guy can dream, can’t he? 🙂

well, if I’m not having too many normal blathers lately, I better get on that right away!

4 01 2011
BP

Thanks Owl

4 01 2011
Owl Jones

Thank you Dave. I hope you have a great 2011, man.

Leave a Reply

