10 Ways to Beat Cabin Fever this Winter

31 12 2010
Actions

Information

7 responses

31 12 2010
dtgbuettner

Hahaha! Looks like you have Dr. Ishigaki beat on simplicity in flytying. Who needs hackle when you’ve got mayo! 🙂

31 12 2010
cofisher

Seriously funny. Owl…you’re a hoot! Get it…hoot, Owl. Hoot Owl.

1 01 2011
The River Damsel

I remember someone saying that they weren’t afraid of bears…hmmm? (But, that was seriously the best part) And I feel privileged to be at the top of the blog roll even though I might have been the latest one added…ha.

1 01 2011
Owl Jones

Oh no, you weren’t the “last one” added. There were some that didn’t get added back at all. You were the last one I found that I decided to keep. I kinda felt like I wouldn’t list blogs that only got one or two posts a month, or had content that wasn’t at least PG-13 rated, or that just had alot of posts linking to other blogs. So the list was shortened, the cuts were made and you made it, of course. The only problem I had was trying to find your blog. You know, the url is one thing…and the title…well….call me slow. 😉

1 01 2011
Owl Jones

PS – Hey, hey now Queen Spritie, I said I wasn’t afraid of them, not that I was stupid enough to sit still so they could munch my hide! Remember, you don’t have to outrun the bear, you just have to outrun your fishin’ buddy.

3 01 2011
Ken Gortowski

You do realize your yellow thread fly is a maggot when finished. Everything eats maggots. Up here in Illinois, Indian word for no trout in these rivers, it’s the best bait around. Your fly would be perfect for pond bluegills. Ice fishing barbarians could use them, even though fly casting to that little hole might be a trick.
When I was teaching fishing to kids for the Chicago Park district, I watched a girl walking along a pier trying to coax a fish to eat the aberdeen hook loaded with maggots. I assumed she was teasing bluegills. She caught the fish with the maggot filled hook, it was a 5 pound largemouth.

Go figure.

3 01 2011
Owl Jones

Really? ….I had no idea. 😉 I may have to whip up 1000 or so “Owl’s Super Maggots” and peddle them to the ice fishing fanatics! If I tied them with a little maggot head of a slightly darker color, and tied them on a small jig-head I bet I’d make gazillions! 🙂 I’ll half the profits with ya!

Visit the OwlJones.com Family of Fly Fishing Websites:

OwlJones.com – A Southeastern Fly Fishing Internet Hub! BlueRidgeTroutBums.com – Appalachian Fly Fishing Club! BRTB Forums – Southeastern Fly Fishing Forums! Appalachian Tenkara – Southeastern Tenkara Fishing Website! OMG It’s Fly Tying! – Cutting Edge Fly Tying Blog! ZugBug Outdoors! – Fly Fishing Videos in amazing HD!

Leave a Reply

